Classroom and Professional Development Grants


Classroom and Professional Development Mini-Grants

The Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation, in cooperation with CHELCO and the Consortium of Florida Education Foundations (CFEF), is proud to announce the request for proposals for Classroom and Professional Development Grants for the 2016-2017 school year.  A generous donation from CHELCO and other contributions from the community which have been matched, dollar-for-dollar by CFEF, make this grant opportunity possible.  Grants of up to $500 each will be awarded to successful applicants.

Who may apply?

Instructional staff of the Okaloosa County School District may apply for a Grant.

What are the eligible funding areas?

  • Classroom Grants must address one or more of the STEM initiatives at any grade level or Literacy at any grade level.
  • Professional Development Grants will be awarded in any subject area, at any grade level.

What activities are permitted?

Classroom Instructional Grants will support the following types of proposals for STEM or Literacy:

  • Development and implementation of innovative instructional activities or programs;
  • Expansion of an existing instructional program to include more students; and,
  • Purchase of materials, equipment or supplies to establish a new program or to enhance an existing program.

Professional Development Grants will support the following in any subject area:

  • Registration fees;
  • Travel, including mileage, housing and meals; and,
  • Required training/conference materials.

How will recipients be selected?

Grant proposals will be evaluated by a Selection Committee drawn from the Members of the Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation Board of Directors.  The evaluation process will be “blind” for the Committee.  The name of the applicant and the name of his or her school must appear ONLY on the application cover page.  There should be no identifying information in the body of the proposal.

What if the author of a funded Mini-Grant proposal transfers to another school?

Since instructional projects will be funded to expand and enhance the instructional opportunities for a specific group of students, the funded Classroom Grant would remain at the school.  Professional Development Grants would transfer with the instructional staff member.

What are the restrictions on budget categories/items?

  • For Classroom Grants, allowable costs are equipment, supplies and materials to support the proposed project.  Computer equipment, software, peripherals and other appropriate technology are allowable.  Salaries and stipends are NOT allowable expenditures.
  • For Professional Development Grants, travel costs, registration and required training or conference materials are allowable costs.

What is a complete application?

A complete application consists of:

  • the cover page with all required signatures;
  • the grant narrative of no more than three (3) pages; and,
  • the budget form, totaling no more than $500.


Application Deadline is September 30th at 3:00 PM!

This application cover sheet, the three-page grant narrative and the budget should be submitted via e-mail to Diane Meredith in the Office of Community Affairs ( .  The original cover sheet must be sent to Diane’s attention at the Bay Area Office/Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation.  Questions about the application should be directed to Dort Baltes, Special Projects Coordinator at 850-502-9717 or

When will recipients be announced?

Grant recipients will be announced the week of October 10, 2016.

To apply, click here.

See a summary of all of the 2015-16 Instructional Classroom/Professional Development Grants funded through the Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation and the Consortium of Florida Education Foundations over the past two years.


Congratulations to the 2015-16 Classroom and Professional Development Mini-Grant Recipients:


Classroom/STEM Grants

  • Tammy McKenzie, Crestview HS
  • Shannon Kirby, Crestview HS
  • Sannon DeBerry, Wright ES
  • Scarlett Brock, Ruckel MS
  • Rick Hernandez, Niceville HS
  • Kim Escoffier, Niceville HS
  • Dana Young, Bluewater ES
  • Alison Hunt, Davidson MS
  • Tim Sexton, Davidson MS
  • Hailey Looney, Choctaw HS

Professional Development

  • Shalyce Klimetz, Edwins ES
  • Sandy Day, Eglin ES
  • Kelly Gore, Longwood ES
  • Curt Palermo, Pryor MS
  • Tim Sexton, Davidson MS
  • Kara Bell, Bluewater ES